activitats-frontend Portlet

5 July 2010

Catalogue "In favor of Public Space; ten years of the european prize for urban public space"

Catalogue that commemorates the ten years of the European Prize for Urban Public Space (2000-2010)

The catalogue of the European Prize for Urban Public Space surveys the twenty-nine prize-winning works and Special Mentions of the six awards of the European Prize for Urban Public Space in the words of architects, urban planners, writers, philosophers, sociologists and politicians who review them from lucid and suggestive standpoints. Far from being confined to a strictly architectural reading of the works this appraisal inquires deeply into the civic values, the political nature and the collective sense that shape the core and essence of the concept of public space, offering valuable testimony to the great diversity of forms embraced by this idea in making its presence felt the length and breadth of the continent of Europe.

Articles by Arnold Bartetzky, Oriol Bohigas, Ole Bouman, David Bravo, Peter Cachola Schmal, Judit Carrera, Zeljka Corak, Luis Francisco Esplá, Luis Fernández-Galiano, Kjartan Fløgstad, Beatrice Galilee, Luis García Montero,Lars Gemzøe, Huib Haye van der Werf, Andreas Huyssen, Hans Ibelings, Sarah Ichioka, José Miguel Iribas, Gabriele Kaiser, Dirk Laucke, Luca Molinari, Rafael Moneo, Joan Nogué, Shane OʼToole, Antoni Puigverd, Francis Rambert, Josep Ramoneda, Xavier Ribas, Marina Romero, Manuel de Solà-Morales, Dietmar Steiner, Elías Torres, Montserrat Tura, Philip Ursprung, Ana Vaz Milheiro, Adam Zagajewski.

Projects by aldayjover arquitectura y paisaje, Atelier dʼArchitecture Autogérée, Atelier Kempe Thill, PLOT A/S: Bjarke Ingels & Julien De Smedt, Batlle i Roig Arquitectes + Teresa Galí-Izard, Büro Kiefer, Caruso St John Architects, Snøhetta, among many others.

You can take a look to the publication here and to buy it here