Award Editions Frontend Portlet

Edition 2012

Award ceremony

6.30 p.m.

Formal welcome address by Mr. Marçal Sintes, director of the CCCB, with speech by Mr. Vicent Guallart, director of Urban Habitat and the head architect of Barcelona City Council

Reading of the Minutes of the Jury by David Bravo, Secretary of the European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012.

Ex aequo prizes:

• Refurbishment of the Banks of the River Ljubljanica in Ljubljana, Slovenia
Janez Koželj, Deputy Mayor and City Architect of the Ljubljana City Council, promoter.
Rok Žnidaršič, Medprostor Studio, one of the eight architects’ studios involved in the collective work.

• Restoration of the Hilltop Site of Turó de la Rovira in Barcelona, Spain
Francina Vila i Valls, Councillor for the District of Horta-Guinardó and Vice-President of the Carmel and Environs Development Agency, promoter.
Joan Roca, director of History Museum of Barcelona, conceptual ideation
Imma Jansana, of the Jansana, de la Villa and de Paauw, Architects’ Studio, and Jordi Romero of the AAUP Jordi Romero and Associates Studio, authors.

Special Mentions:

• Exhibition Road in London, United Kingdom
Mahmood Siddiqi, Director for Transport and Highways at Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, London.

• Abolition of Slavery Memorial
in Nantes, France
Julian Bonder, Wodiczko+Bonder, Architecture, Art & Design, author

• Annorstädes / Elswhere / Ailleurs in Malmö, Sweden
Tania Ruiz, author

Special Category:

• Occupy Puerta del Sol in Madrid, Spain


8.15 p.m.

Speech by Josep Llinàs, President of the Jury of the European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012

Speech and closing address by Mr. Salvador Esteve i Figueras, President of the Barcelona Provincial Council and of the Centre of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona Consortium

Free of charge / Limited seating available / Simultaneous translation into Catalan is offered.