autores-frontend Portlet

Aaron Betsky

Missoula (United States of America)

Aaron Betsky

Architect. Member of the prize jury.

Architect, critic, curator and writer. Dean of the School of Architecture at Taliesin, formerly the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture. He was Director of the Cincinnati Art Museum from 2006 to 2014. Previously he directed the Netherlands Architecture Institute of Rotterdam. He gradated in History, the Arts and Letters in 1979 and received his master’s degree in Architecture in 1983 from Yale University. He taught at Cal Poly Pomona College of Environmental Design and the University of Cincinnati. He was curator of architecture, design and digital projects at San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and curated the XI Venice Architecture Biennale in 2008. He has also worked as a designer for Frank Gehry and Hodgetts & Fung.

He has written numerous monographs on 20th-century architects, including I.M. Pei, UN Studio, Koning Eisenberg, Zaha Hadid and MVRDV. His books include Building Sex: Men, Women, Architecture and the Construction of Sexuality (William Morrow & Co, 1995), False Flat: Why Dutch Design is so Good (Phaidon, 2008) and Architecture Matters (Thames & Hudson, 2017).

Member of the prize jury from 2002 to 2006.

Last updated: February 2019